229 Trenton Avenue, Barrington, NJ 08007
(856) 547-0706

Economic Development


PHL Biz Journal Article

Click here to download a PDF Version of Barrington Economic Development

Economic Development in the Borough is administered by the Economic Development Committee appointed by Mayor and Council. The Committee was formed in 1996 and reorganized under the terms of a Borough ordinance in 1999. The Committee works closely with various offices, Borough officials and local businesses. Its mission is to retain and attract business to the community and maintain a stable tax base.

Illustrations of the Committee’s projects include: the development of 0ff-street parking, redevelopment of targeted commercial and industrial properties, streetscape improvements projects to the Clements Bridge Road commercial district, the creation of redevelopment zones, the publication of an annual report on economic development and general business assistance.

The Committee was instrumental in the redevelopment of the former Owens Corning Fiberglass Plant into what is now the Barrington Business Center, a warehouse and distribution center with approximately one million square feet of space.

The Committee’s work is guided by a strategic plan adopted for economic development in 1999. In 2001 and again in May 2004, the Borough received an economic development award from the Camden County Board of Freeholders and the Camden County Improvements Authority.

Economic Development Quarterly Committee Meetings are held at 7:30pm at the Municipal Building Council Chambers. The Management Team meetings are held on a monthly basis and as deemed necessary.

Economic Development Committee:
Phil Rowan , Economic Development Coordinator
Robert Edmund
Vince DiAntonio
Thomas Hanna
Catharine MacDonald
Karen Cilurso
Joseph Sikora
Debra Smith
Jeff Swartz
Robert Moules
John Colaianni
Ken Willson
John Hall
Louis Ciavolella
Christine & Larry Lis

Council Committee Members:
Mayor John Rink, Chairman
Kirk Popiolek, Councilman
Robert Klaus, Councilman

Management Team Members:
Terry Shannon, Borough Clerk
Mike Ciocco, Superintendent of Public Works
Michael DePierri, Emergency Mgmt Coordinator
George Jones, Zoning Officer
Joe Eisenhardt, Police Chief
Jason Houck, Fire Chief
Barbara Willson, Barrington Ambulance
John Szczerbinski, Construction Official
Anthony Arcodia, Interim Superintendent of Schools